Our History

The School of Psychiatric Nursing Uselu, Benin City was founded in 1969 and accorded recognition by the then Nursing Council of Nigeria, (now Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria) to offer courses in Psychiatric Nursing Experience for student nurses undergoing General nursing training.

Initially a handful of prospective nurses were usually sent to the School of Psychiatric Nursing, Aro, Abeokuta in Ogun State to undergo training in psychiatric nursing. The effort of the hospital management in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Health and the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria to establish a full fledged institution for the training of psychiatric nurses was put into effect in 1979; when the school was established.

The school was officially declared open on the 2nd April 1979 by the then Minister of Health, Dr. Peter Ogbang with an initial student intake of 20 students for the 3 years basic programme. The basic programme was later phased out by the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria in 2000 to be replaced by post basic students 12 months programme, October of every year. This development was again changed into an 18 months semester based programme which commenced from April, 2007.


1. Mr. J. O. Ojo (1979 - 1980)

2. Ms. E. C. Nzekwu (1980 - 1996)

3. Mr. M. O. Okuse (1996 - 2002)

4. Mr. D. I. Igbinigie (2002 - 2006)

5. Mr. Isaac I. Aghama (2006 - 2010)

6. Mr. Patrick E. Igharosa (2010 - 2012)

7. Mrs. V. Uruejoma (2012 - 2013 )

8. Mrs. Osaghae J. O. (2013 - 2015)

9. Mr. Wellington Ogieriakhi (May/June 2015 - Dec 2015)

10. Mr. Saturday Okolo (2015 till date)